News from National ASM

Esther Babady, PhD, D(ABMM)

The ASM Council on Microbial Science (COMS), which is the strategic programmatic Branch of the ASM, held its first meeting on May 31st, 2017. The COMS has a total of 95 members, with 35 of these members representing the regional ASM Branches, and which includes the New York City Branch. Other committee members serve as various ASM division councilors and program board/committee chairs.

The council elected Dr. Victor DiRita and Dr. Paul Brown, as Chair and Vice-Chair for the COMS, respectively. Two members of the COMS were also recently elected to the ASM Board of Directors, Dr. Victor DiRita (Michigan State University) and Dr. Amy Cheng Vollmer (Swarthmore College). Several working groups, including a Clinical and Public Health Microbiology group, were formed during the COMS meeting for the purpose of discussing the developing trends in each specific microbial field.  Discussions generated in the COMS working groups focused on developing innovative ways to ensure that the ASM continues to advance the microbial sciences, and serves the needs of its membership. The Clinical and Public Health Microbiology group, for example, identified three particular focal areas of importance: advocacy for our profession, communications in and out of the ASM and addressing workforce issues.

Stay tuned for exciting programs and ideas from the new COMS this year!